An Introduction

As you may have guessed from the title, my name is Patrick Pink, and I am an aspiring writer currently studying English Literature at Swansea University. Over the course of my writing, I’m looking to experiment stylistically as well as in terms of genre. Currently, I am drawn to sceenwriting and short stories, as they are forms I can easily fit around my studies.

In terms of influences, I would say I’m an avid reader, interested in a variety of genres. Although I find it difficult to pinpoint a set of favourite books, I would have to place both The Time Machine, by HG Wells and Monkey by Wu Ch’Eng-En although for entirely different reasons. I love The Time Machine largely for the authenticity of the far future that Wells creates; as an extrapolation of the flaws within modern society, it appeals to both the sci-fi and political sides of my tastes. Monkey, however, is simply a fantastic story, made only more entertaining because it pertains to a part of the world I love, the Far East.

Anyway, that’s me in a nutshell. Any updates on here will probably be drafts, so don’t take it too seriously.

Leave a Reply

