A Lot Like Me (I.)

He’s sitting, staring, slimy gazes
Slide under the windows pane
I don’t know his intentions
Though I know his eyes are fixed on me

He oozes over discarded junk piles
Keeping carefully out the way
Watches my endeavours burn and crumble
Points and cruelly laughs.

I can hear his teeth click, chattered out chuckles
Maddening rasping wheezing breath
He retches phlegm from his poisonous mouth
It dripping sizzles on the ground

He’s waiting for me to stumble,
Tumble, grind my face on paving
So finally trapped beneath his whispers
His words are vomited over me

“You’ve always been this worthless
And you won’t be changing soon
I’ve watched you all your life
And seen you hurt with words and actions
Watched you sneer
And fail
And spit out lies
You’re the worst I’ve ever known”

There are days when I can’t see him
When his voice is barely heard
On these days the sun shines brighter
My fears all seem absurd
.                But then his whispers turn up loud
.                And more plainly I can see
.                That terrifying as the figure is
.                He looks a lot like me.

Leave a Reply

